BrewTarget v.s. Priceless BIAB Calc

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nobadays

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Just finished brewing what was to be a low ABV Pale Ale. I have been using Brew Target for recipe building for a couple of years now...and I like it. That said this is not the first time I have over shot my OG, as a matter of fact I almost always over shoot what Brew Target tells me. I use Priceless BIAB Calculator mainly to give me the volume of strike water I need for a particular brew. I use the advanced calculator so it also gives me an estimate of the OG after boil (and for other points in the process.)

So this beer had an estimated OG by Brew Target of 1.040 and an ABV of just 4%...what I was looking for. Priceless on the other hand set the estimated OG at 1.046. My actual OG was 1.048. If this finishes at 1.011 where Brew Target estimates it will give me a 4.86% beer.

Normally I don't get very excited at all about hitting my numbers, a bit higher or lower within reason and I'm happy...the beer is always good! But in this case I was really shooting for a "lawnmower" beer, something low in ABV so I could have 3 or 4 on a hot day...and they are all hot even here in North Central AZ this time of year!

Here is the recipe if anyone wants to figure out where I'm going wrong..

16 gallon Kettle - 15.5" Diameter
Boil off rate ~1.6
Kettle Loss ~ 1.25

Strike water volume 9.57 gallons

Size: 5.75 gallons
Yeast US-05

Grain:
7# 2 Row
3# Munich
12oz Crystal 10L
6oz Carapils

1oz Cascade @ 20min
1oz Centennial @ 10min
1.5oz Citra @ 5min
1oz Centennial @ 170* for 30 minutes
Dry Hop:
1.5oz Citra
1.5oz Centennial

Not sure if more is needed...or anyone will be interested..but thanks in advance!!

Cheers! Don