Underletting w/ a false bottom question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mongoose33

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I finally have my RIMS system up and plan to do a run this weekend. I have a false bottom drawing off into the ball valve, into the pump, into the RIMS and then back to a distribution manifold on top of the mash.

But...I've been underletting, and wondering how people do that. Do you just pour the grist in on the false bottom, knowing some's going through, and it'll eventually filter out?

I do have a BIAB bag I probably could line the kettle with before pouring in the grist.

I've never used a false bottom before, so unclear how this will work with doing underletting.

I have the Blichmann FB. Dust might get through it but that's pretty much it. I used to subscribe to the "foundation water" practice but realized I didn't need that extra step, so now I just dump the grist into the dry mlt and start the underletting...

Cheers!

Crushed malt goes in the top. Water goes in through the bottom. Gets a good stir then i recirculate.

Blichmann FB never lets me down with barley grist but anything flaked plugs it in an instant. YMMV.

I just started underletting with a false bottom and a bag. I don’t recirculate though. Seems to work just fine.

@mongoose33, are you doing full volume mash? I’m doing full volume / no sparge and am struggling a little with water volumes in the boil kettle since I’m not hanging (dripping) my bag. Grain absorption is high and I feel like I’m leaving a lot of “wort goodness” in the mash tun.

I just started underletting with a false bottom and a bag. I don’t recirculate though. Seems to work just fine.