Newbie attempting raspberry melomel with raw honey

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cheesy_Goodness

Reaction score
I've done a few batches of JAOM with store bought honey, but I'm a total newbie with "real" mead.

My wife works with a guy that keeps bees. They got to talking and a deal was struck that he'll give us 15 pounds of honey to make mead, and the end result will be split with him 50/50. Given the price of honey, I couldn't pass that up. He said the honey has been filtered, but not pasteurized. Also, he mentioned that it will be mostly "autumn honey" (not quite sure what that means), and as such be a bit darker in color.

Normally I'm not opposed to experimenting, but since this guy is doing us a solid by providing honey, I'd like to get this right the first time. My plan is to do a 5 gallon batch of raspberry melomel. I'm looking for it to be semi-sweet, but not as sweet as JAOM.

My initial thoughts are to add the following to the primary:
15 lbs of honey
2 lbs of raspberries (this is what I have on hand, if need be I could pick up some more)
2.5 tsp of pectic enzyme
1 tsp nutrient
4-5 campden tablets (not sure if this is necessary)
Top off with hot water.

After 24 hours, I'll pitch a TBD yeast.

When the fruit looks to be bleached, I'll rack to a secondary and let it clear as long as it takes.

Does this look reasonable? As I mentioned I'm a newbie with mead, and working wing with raw honey is something entirely new.