pH Buffer Solution: Lifespan Once Opened?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewDrinkRepeat

Reaction score
pH meter newbie here.

Premade buffer solution is more economical and convenient than the single-use pouches you mix yourself, but I worry that I won't use it often enough to go through it before it expires.

About how long do they last once opened?

I'm confused with your contention. The pouches of powder that you add to distilled water will typically produce about 100 ml of solution. That will easily keep for 6 months, when capped in a suitable container.

Are you talking about the single-use, ready to use calibration solutions that are dispensed in ketchup-like packets? They would be less economical. But the dry powder versions that you have to mix up, are very economical.

Premade buffer solution is more economical and convenient than the single-use pouches you mix yourself, but I worry that I won't use it often enough to go through it before it expires.
There are the single use pouches that look like ketchup packs that are very convenient and indeed quite expensive but you don't mix anything - they are pre mixed. You may have these confused with the 'powder pillows' which is a little plastic pillow shaped thingy that you snip open and then pour the powder into 50 mL DI water. Then there is the bottled stuff. In order of cost per use per buffer (assuming 50 mL) looking at the Hach products:

Single use packet: $1.71
500 mL Bottle: $1.13
Pillow: $0.77
4L Jug: $0.628
20L Cubitainer: $0.377

So unless you buy the stuff 4L or 20L at a crack the pillows aren't that expensive and are less expensive than the half liter bottles. Obviously if you take less than 34 mL from the 500 mL bottle then it becomes less expensive than the pillow.