Bru n water profile help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Coastalbrew

Reaction score
Hi folks,
I searched around in the related threads but didn't see this addressed anywhere...

I am new to water adjustment and am playing around with the free version of Bru n water to try and get a better understanding of how this all works and the effects that different changes in mineral content can make. My municipal water content swings wildly throughout the year as the source changes, so I'm planning to use distilled water from my local Wally world. Does anyone know how I should go about setting up my water profile and sparge water profile for distilled water?

Thanks in advance!

Hey coastalbrew , I dont use the free version but it should be close . On the dilution box just click on Distilled and put 100% . What I do is input my grain bill . Most times I pick the color on the water profile section. For example if I'm doing a light colored beer I'll choose yellow . Then if it's a balanced style I'll choose that . Think there is 3 options of balanced, dry and full. Once you add your grain and choose water profile you will see where you ppm will be so then you adjust to get it close to the numbers as you can. Dont know if you've looked into the brew science section but there is a sticky called water priming or something like that. It's a good read . Just get on Bru n water and play around you will get the hang of it.

+1 to @Jag75. ^

Many Wally worlds sell RO water for $0.39 a gallon. Supply your own containers. Just check the service log to make sure the membrane is working as it should, and buy a TDS meter (~$20). Distilled is $0.60 a gallon, here.