Help me decide! Party Pigs vs. Mini Kegs...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StudentBrewer

Reaction score
I'm a noob who has brewed about 5 batches now (extract and specialty grains) and I'd love to get into kegging. However, I live in a smallish apartment and have limited space and funds (2nd year of doctorate program). I've been looking into party pigs and also the 5l party kegs. Or should I just forego these altogether and go with a 3 or 5 gallon corny system? I'd like to get some input on which is best. I've got a normal kitchen fridge as well as a half size beer fridge to work with (not much). Any opinions are greatly appreciated, thanks.

Brandon

Aren't those other kegs plastic?, I think cornelius kegs are the only way to go. they're stainless and strong. I've got dozens and never had a problem. Just change Orings occasionally.
RK

Does anyone know the dimensions of a 3 gallon corny? Trying to figure out if it'll fit in the beer fridge. Thanks

Brandon

I started with the 5L kegs (which are metal), but after two broken taps, I switched to cornies. The 5L look like they would be cheaper, but the tap systems for them are expensive. If space is a problem, I'd go with the party pigs. I may get a party pig for ... parties! Dragging a cornie and CO2 bottle is a bit heavy.

f1h63t.jpg
mini keg

The tap-a-draft system uses 6L PET plastic bottles and isn't subject to corrosion problems. They say you shouldn't go over 4 months in PET.

El Pistolero said:
Half way down the page on this link.
Hmmm, 100 bucks to go mini kegs and about $200 on ebay for the complete cornelius kit. Tough decision. Just how much of a hassle are the mini kegs? Is the main problem that the taps break? Does that cost money or beer? or both?