Just bought some 3 Gal kegs New I have no kegging experience need some feedback

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Timber

Reaction score
So, I just ordered some new 3 gallon Pin lock kegs. Let me preface I have no other equipment at this point in time. My primary reason behind the 3 gal is purely space at this price I don't mind the fact I am paying extra, my thought is to purchase a smaller dorm fridge smaller than the typical sanyo conversion.. the smallest I can get them to fit in and have about 2-3 beers on tap and then bottle the other 2 or just do smaller batches or just split one batch between 2 kegs. So I know I could do a 5 gal setup cheaper but A) I want the smaller fridge setup, due to the small footprint, I could put the kegerator right in the kitchen under the cabinets o something and B) at the price these were, if I choose to upgrade it shouldn't be hard to resell them at minimal loss. I'm not a huge drinker to begin with so it should be perfect.

https://www.homebrewing.org/Brand-NEW-3-Gallon-Cornelius-Keg-40Pin-Lock41-_p_1591.html

Some other people have purchased this deal and talk about it in this thread

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f16/wtb-3-gallon-corny-keg-ball-lock-188777/

and someone mentions this

just a heads up, I bought 2 of the 3 gallon pin locks mentioned earlier in this thread (I use them to lager in a dorm fridge). Got them last week. They are identical to the 3 gallon ball locks I have, size and everything. You could change out the posts to make them ball locks, the spartan/cornelius posts are the same, or at least they seem to be on mine. Although the lids have a pressure relief valve, they're not the kind with the ring you can pull to relieve pressure, you still have to hit the gas post to relieve pressure on these.