SS Brewtech Issues

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yourlastchance89

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
This post is both a review and inquiry into issues. So this is my set up here. First I must say that I love everything I've gotten from them so far. I only started brewing in December. Initially I was going to go the regular route with basic equipment, but I stumbled across the SS Brew Bucket thread on here, read Jamil Zainasheff's beginners advice on temp control, and decided to splurge on a quality fermenter with the FTSs Temp Controller. I don't think I'll ever buy anything but SS fermenters now. At the start of the semester in February I was fortunate enough to get some extra scholarship money so I threw down and got the SS Brewmaster Chronical, the FTTs temp controller, and the glycol chiller. They've both worked fairly great. Easy enough to set up, great customer service, and overall everything I've got from them has been aesthetically beautiful. I feel they're comparable to the Apple products of homebrewing. Great functioning and beautiful products, but I had some issues, mostly more associated to my own inexperience. The first was with the seal to the lid of the Chronical. It was far more of a pain in the ass to put in than the bucket. I knowingly put it on upside down thinking the clamps would still adequately seal it,they didn't. I noticed when cold crashing I had no signs of suck back in the balloon on the end of the blowoff. It shrunk but not to the point of being completely sealed which I attributed to the extra head space in the lid. 4 days later my pilsner wort rather than clear, turned more into an orange juice. It doesn't help that I attempted a partial mash with the stove top and oven and totally jacked it up. I fixed t