Stuck in Homebrewing Rut

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Clint

Reaction score
Do you ever find yourself stuck in the same old homebrewing ruts?
Doing the same thing over and over, and getting stale.

How do you get yourself unstuck?

If I find myself getting bored because for whatever reason I've been brewing the same styles or recipes mutiple times, I'll start doing some research on a brewing method or beer style that I've never tried before. I was brewing a bunch of pale ales for a while and wanted something different so I tried a Kolsch. Got tired of doing standard infusion mashes so tried a parti-gyle. Got tired of doing tried and true recipes, so did a bunch of research and developed a recipe for a Kentucky Common. Soon I'll be trying a gruit to do something different. There are so many styles and methods and ways to brew and create recipes there's really no excuse to avoid boredom, you just have to push yourself out of your comfort zone once in a while.

I have never once gotten even after home brewing for over 29 years. My secret even though I brew the same "house" brews time after time is to change up the method or scale the recipe to a different size just to keep things a little different while maintaining the same flavor and consistency. I can't say this works for everyone, but even now I still look forward to brew days.....

Many beers (Pilsners for example) have a dozen different yeast strains between the major yeast labs that are all variations on your standard Pilsner yeast strains. Try different yeasts and see if you can determine the differences. Keep notes.