Want to try my hand at a sour ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bluelinebrewer

Reaction score
I'd like to try making a sour ale, but I'm not sure how to go about this. I recently brewed a blonde ale, to soon be racked onto strawberries for a Strawberry Blonde. I've done the recipe a few times and it's never dawned on me to try and sour it. (I did search the forum and found a similar thread, but my beer has already been brewed and I'm not sure how to proceed.) So, my plan is to rack half of the beer onto some strawberries for my regular Strawberry Blonde, and sour the other half. So, should I go ahead and rack the sour onto the strawberries and just wait, or should I sour first and then add the strawberries? I'm a complete noob when it comes to souring a beer, so any and all comments, suggestions, and "you're and idiot"'s, are welcome. Thanks in advance!!

You might want to post this to the Lambic/Wild Fermentation forum.

There's many ways to do this, but from what I have read, most people agree that you want to do the racking onto fruit as the final step. Also, sour ales are very tricky and take a lot of time. I suggest doing your first one with a blend (such as Wyeast's Roeselare). After about a year on that, then rack it onto the strawberries for a few months.

There's a lot more knowledgeable people on the Lambic forum than me (I mostly stick with just sacch and brett or 100% brett brews).

Another note, the bacteria like the unconverted complex carbs, so unless you have a lot of them, it probably won't be quite like what you would expect from a Flanders or Lambic. Not saying that it won't turn out good, but that's just one of the little technical tidbits that I have learned in my research.