Yet Another BIAB First Timer!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CascadesBrewer

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I did my first BIAB batch today! BeerSmith tells me I got around around 85% efficiency (I overshot my expected OG by .005). It took me 4 hr 20 min from filling pots with water and crushing grain to wort in the fermenter (with a 15 min delay because I ran out for hops during the mash and got back right at 60 min). I am new to using BeerSmith Mobile (and I forgot to take to measure my wort volume after I pulled out the chiller), so I would not put too much into the 85% efficiency number, but 1.058 on a 5 gal batch with 10.5 lbs of grain seems pretty good.

I will play around with my BIAB process, but what I did seemed to work well. I did 4 gal of water for the mash and 4 gal for the sparge (though I ended up with .5 gal more in the boil that I wanted.) I mash in an insulated box that holds my temps by 3-4F over an hour.

20181228_103311.jpg

After the mash, I put the pot back on the burner, lifted the bag off the bottom, and fired up my burner. When it got to around 180F I did a quick dunk of the grain and pulled it up and let it drain for 5 min or so.

20181228_103856.jpg

I then moved it to a bucket where I added ~4 gal of heated sparge water. I stirred it, let it sit for a few minutes then lifted the bag and let it drain. By the time that was done, the wort in the kettle was up to around 200F.

20181228_105209.jpg